Nevada Residential Lease
Nevada Residential Lease
Make Unlimited Leases for 1 Year
Loading your form ...
Nevada landlord? Sign a residential lease with single or multiple tenants
Nevada landlord-tenant law is among the most complex in the country. If you’re a landlord in Nevada and you are renting your property to tenants for a set amount of time (six months or a year, for example), you need this Nevada-specific lease to get every tenancy off to a good start. Designed to comply with state law (and careful to point out where local law or rent control may apply, too), this lease from Nolo lets you:
- specify the length of the lease, who can live on the property, the amount of rent, and how it’s to be paid
- set the security deposit and explain how it will be used and returned (including local interest requirements, if any)
- explain your rights to enter the rental and the tenants’ and landlord’s upkeep responsibilities
- include important restrictions on guest stays, use of the property, and the consequences of late rent and bounced checks
- make required disclosures regarding environmental hazards and other significant issues
The lease comes with a full set of clause-by-clause instructions, explaining the meaning of each clause and how to fill in the required information. Includes links to rent control boards or other local government websites that guide users on how to add locally-required information in the lease. This product creates a legal, binding lease that embodies the rights and responsibilities of landlords and tenants in Nevada, all in plain English.
How can I read the landlord-tenant laws online?
You will be able to create a legal rental agreement without having to read the Nevada state laws that govern residential rentals. However, if you'd like to look at the statutes themselves, you can easily do so. Go to Nolo's Nevada Laws and Legal Information page and select the Nevada Code link at the top. This will take you to the official Nevada site, where you can search for specific statutes. Most of the laws you'll want to see are in Nevada Revised Statutes, Sections 118A.010 to 118A.250; and 40.215 to 40.280.
Are you making a lease or a month-to-month rental agreement?
This rental form allows you to create either a fixed-term lease or a rental agreement.
- A lease runs from one specific date to another, and typically lasts for a year. The lease expires on its own; neither landlord nor tenant need give notice. The terms of the lease cannot be modified midlease unless both parties agree.
- A month-to-month rental agreement self-renews every month, unless landlord or tenant gives the required amount of notice. Landlords may modify the terms of the agreement using the same notice period.
By law in Nevada, landlords must give tenants at least 30 days' written notice to end a month to month tenancy. Landlords who want to change a term of the tenancy, such as a no-pets rule, must give 30 days' notice; to raise the rent, they must give 45 days' notice. Tenants must give landlords at least 30 days' notice to terminate a month-to-month tenancy.
Are you renewing an existing lease you made with Nolo?
If you've made a lease using this platform and have an existing account, you can renew the lease by duplicating the old lease and entering any changed information. For example, make sure the contact information for you or the manager is current. (To duplicate your form, open the original lease and click "Duplicate" in the blue menu bar.)
If you want to apply the security deposit you collected originally to the renewed lease, you'll have an opportunity to do so. You can either roll-over the amount you have on hand, or add to it (within the limits of the law, of course). If you're paying interest on deposits, don't forget to calculate interest based on the new, higher amount if you've increased the deposit.
How do I establish a legal occupancy policy for this rental?
You may want to establish an occupancy policy for your rental, such as "suitable for four persons." State law in Nevada does not regulate the number of people who may reside in rental housing, though cities or counties may have such ordinances. In the absence of any regulation, a policy of two persons per bedroom (the standard used by HUD) is considered reasonable.
Be certain that you do not apply an occupancy policy in a way that discriminates against families with children. Be realistic -- a newborn or infant who shares the parents' bedroom usually will not create overcrowding.
What does "joint and several liability" mean?
Your rental document advises multiple tenants that each tenant will be responsible for paying rent and abiding by all the terms of the agreement. (If you're renting to a single tenant now, it puts this tenant on notice that tenants who join the lease later will also be subject to this rule.) The rule means that you can legally seek the entire rent from any one of the tenants should the others skip out or be unable to pay. It also gives you the right to evict all of the tenants even if just one has broken the terms of the lease.
Violating Laws and Causing Disturbances
What does the "covenant of quiet enjoyment" mean for both landlord and tenant?
Your rental document requires both landlord and tenant to refrain from violating laws and causing disturbances, and to maintain the tenant's right to "quiet enjoyment." In particular:
Landlord. Your promise to give the tenant "quiet enjoyment" means that you will preserve the ability of the tenant to use and enjoy the rented premises. Examples include not allowing garbage to pile up, dealing with a rodent infestation, and controlling a neighboring tenant on your property whose constant loud music makes it impossible for other tenants to sleep.
Tenant. This clause also forbids tenants from interfering with other tenants' or nearby residents' ability to reasonably enjoy their homes. For instance, a tenant who hosts loud, late parties has interfered with others' quiet enjoyment. Serious and repeated violations of the covenant of quiet enjoyment on the part of the landlord entitle the tenant to break the lease and move out. Such violations on the part of the tenant allow the landlord to terminate the tenancy.
What are the rules regarding repairs and alterations?
Your tenant may not alter the premises without your consent. The clause's "except as provided by law" language refers to the fact that in certain situations, tenants have narrowly defined rights to alter the premises, as long as they follow proper procedures (and always with notice to you). Examples include:
Alterations by tenants with a disability. Under federal and state law, tenants with a disability may modify their living space to the extent necessary to make the space safe and comfortable, as long as these modifications don't pose an unreasonable burden on you.
Satellite dishes and antennas. Federal law gives tenants limited rights to install wireless antennas and small satellite dishes.
Repair and deduct. Tenants may undertake repairs and deduct the cost from their rent in certain situations; and they may also arrange for needed essential services. (Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. Sections 118A.360, 118A.380.)
Optional specifications for repair and deduct. Landlords may specify that any work done pursuant to the repair-and-deduct remedy be performed by a specified person or firm, or class of firms. If the person or firm named by the landlord is not available to do the work, the landlord may specify that the tenant must use another qualified person or firm. Your rental agreement includes an optional clause should you want to make this provision part of your lease.
How do I supply legally-required lead-hazard documentation?
With some exceptions, all landlords must complete the federally required Lead Paint and Lead-Paint Hazards Disclosure form and give it to prospective tenants. Your lease includes a clause in which landlords who are not exempt from this requirement state that they have complied with the rule (exemptions are explained in the Help sections of the clause). You can download the Disclosure of Information on Lead-Based Paint and/or Lead-Based Paint Hazards from the EPA website. Fill it out by hand. Be sure to keep a copy for your records.
Note that if you're renting a unit in a multitenant building, the requirement that you disclose information includes records and reports concerning common areas and other units, when such information was obtained as a result of a buildingwide evaluation.
If you are not exempt, you will also need to give your tenant a copy of the EPA pamphlet Protect Your Family From Lead in Your Home, available at the EPA website.